Surfing the Web

Published June 10, 2010 by mamapossum1954

It never ceases to amaze me how much information is available on the internet! On any given topic, google (or some other search engine) will supply you with countless pages of results….of course, none of us really have enough time to peruse each of these websites. But I’ve spent the last couple of days searching the internet for various things….only because my house-mate (i.e. my 19 y.o. son) is on the PS3 & needs the extra bandwidth.

So, first I spent some time researching single parents, both in the USA and overseas. Challenges, needs, statistics, parenting education, support groups, job opportunities, yadayadayada. Way too many sites to check out individually! So now my “Bookmarks” are screaming about how many more items I’ve saved there.

Next, I was reading a blog on grocery coupons & eating healthy on $1 per day. VERY interesting blog, by the way. Since I’m not sure how to post a link yet, well, I’ll see about that later. I would like to post some of my favorites on this blog but that will have to wait until I have more time.

Where does one find more time??? If each day had about 36 hours instead of 24, I just might get 1/2 the things accomplished on my (missing) “to do list”. Weeks ago I was bemoaning the fact that the fall semester couldn’t come quickly enough. Well, I’ve changed my mind about that. I still have a bookcase that needs assembling – as soon as my son & I can figure out how to do it! Papers that I want to go through & file away. Not to mention the basic housecleaning, and getting supplies set up for the fall semester at IUP.

Back to grocery coupons. I do use them…occasionally…when they’re for items/brands that I normally buy. But until today I didn’t know much about grocery price books or price comparison or even how to eat well on a budget. Once again, my “Bookmarks” are choking on the additions of multiple insertions of websites devoted to grocery price lists and also household notebooks.

One of my major faults is that I have always wanted to be organized. Unfortunately, wanting to be and achieving that elusive state don’t always coincide. But I will endeavor to work on that.

Well, time for a break…and more web surfing. Hopefully I’ll be able to get onto Facebook and check on my games in the near future (at least so my food doesn’t spoil in CafeWorld or Restaurant City and my crops don’t wither in FarmVille).

One comment on “Surfing the Web

  • So true, Alicia. I find surfing the web is like reading biographies: you always find something or someone in whatever you are reading that makes you want to move onto reading about them and so it repeats. Hours can go by. First thing for you to do is organize those bookmarks!! hehehe

  • Leave a Reply

