BOREDOM…and other thoughts….

Published July 25, 2013 by mamapossum1954

Here it is nearly the end of July 2013.  It has been a long and boring summer break, and I can honestly say I’ve been ready for classes to start back up at IUP for weeks now!!  Of course, this will be my last semester at IUP, hopefully with my graduation in December of this year.

There’s been a multitude of interesting posts by my friends (and others) on Facebook, some of which I felt necessary to repost.  Still, when perusing the activities of my IUP and FB friends, I’ve come to the conclusion that I either lead a dull & boring existence or I desperately need (1) a social life, and/or (2) more friends (in order to have a social life).

Many people would say that when a person is nearing 60 years old, he or she shouldn’t worry about a social life or doesn’t “need” a social life.  Me, I am stagnating!  My brain is turning to mush.

At least I can say my son is finally grown up and now a member of the “working class” – but it bites that HE is the one is who supporting both of us.  It humiliates and annoys me that my job at Walmart didn’t work out.  Yet those last two nights when I shadowed the cashiers really scared me! It wasn’t just the anxiety and panic attacks either.  The severe light-headedness and nearly passing out and the severe pains in my feet and legs (which I still haven’t gotten rid of). I mean, seriously, a trained monkey could be a cashier!! Not really, but the job is a no-brainer.  And it isn’t that I wasn’t smart enough to do the job; it was the fact that PHYSICALLY I could not handle it.

Enough of that.

Thanks to my dear friends, I don’t have the bills hanging over our heads….and thanks to my son keeping up with the monthly ones as well.

I really can’t wait to get back to classes! Four class….12 credits….and I’m done. Kind of scary in a way.  Kind of a head rush in another.  I mean, I’m the first in my family to attend college (heck, Mom didn’t even graduate high school, and Dad only got his high school equivalency through correspondence).  What I will do after graduation, I have no clue.  There’s a ton of things I’d LIKE to do…..yeah, if I was 10, 15, or 20 years younger!!!

I would like to go for my Master’s Degree – either in Sociology or Social Work – but whether I could afford it is another story.  And there’s no guarantee that I’ll be able to find a job with my degree, although I do have years & years of work and life experience.  Maybe I’ll be fortunate and be able to take the civil service test and get a job that way.  I’m hoping so.

On another note, my son needs to get his GED.  I just have to find out when the next test is so he can prepare and save the money for the test.

Missing Melbourne so damn bad lately!!! I know it’s not really feasible for me to move back there; and I wouldn’t want to without my son (and he definitely doesn’t want to go back).  I’ve been overdosing on episodes from “Rush” and “City Homicide” these past few weeks.  So awesome to hear the accent and to see so many places that I actually remember.  Sometimes I wish I could turn back the clock and undo some of the stupid stuff I did years ago!  Or even re-experience some of the events I had….like being new to Australia and discovering Melbourne & its surrounds on the trams for the first time.

I really need to get my shit together and decide what I want to do after graduation.  I’m obviously meant to be at IUP for another semester…..Even though I’m impatient or get angry or frustrated at things that happen, everything does happen for a reason, to put us on the path we’re supposed to travel.

Leave a Reply

