“Murphy’s Law”……

Published August 15, 2013 by mamapossum1954

Spent a not so lovely day today – devoid of internet and not connected to the outside world. Well, that’s what it felt like anyway. We went to Walmart for Nathan to get his check this morning, he cashed it, we got some quarters, and then he left for work around 12:30. I put all the towels in to wash….and found out there was no internet connection! So I text my son, he tells me to unplug the modem. I didn’t know which cord, but he told me, so I did that. Turns out I didn’t unplug the right one…..Did the right one, waited….still not internet.

Talk about a crummy day!!! Tried several times with the modem – nothing. So after the towels were done, went for a nap. Slept maybe an hour until the maintenance guy started trimming the bushes out front (I assume the window people will probably be coming tomorrow!). Then my son texts me during his lunch break not long after that. So I decide to get up….and it’s only 5 pm & he doesn’t get off until 10!

Tried several more times with the modem…..still nothing! Did the dishes, watched some “Rookie Blue” that I had on the computer…..bored out of my brain. Wouldn’t have been so bad if we had TV reception or the radio got a decent signal….but….

Son comes home shortly before 10:30….unhooks everything, including the router….we go to Sheetz for cigs, Doritos and Mountain Dew, come home, he plugs everything in and, voila, all back to normal!!!

No, the world didn’t end from not having the internet. I just hate being isolated and cut off from everything. And since I can’t concentrate fully and get easily distracted, reading wasn’t an option either.

Oh, when we pulled out of the driveway, saw a deer running down the street (side street opposite our driveway). We’ll be seeing more, no doubt, since deer season isn’t too far away. I really hate hunting season!

Leave a Reply

