Busy….Busy….Busy…..

Published September 11, 2013 by mamapossum1954

Here it is the 12th anniversary of September 11th. A sad day but one we should all remember.

Classes have been going well so far. Really like the new professor, Dr. Sandhoff. And especially her Contemporary Social Problems class!!! In a way, I kind of wish I’d taken the course earlier….but in another way, I’m glad I waited because she’s really got a handle on the course content and strives for the students to do lots of critical thinking.

I had to miss last Thursday – thought the window contractors were coming to our place; plus I had only gotten 2 hours of sleep the night before. They swore they’d be here on Monday – Nathan was off that day….but they didn’t show up. No; they showed up yesterday (Tuesday). I was already on my way with Murphy to Giant Eagle Express for coffee so could not go back home, and Nathan was about ready to leave for work. Naturally he didn’t want to talk to them….but I guess he did ‘cos he sent me a text later saying they’d be here on Wednesday. So…..I had to stay home today. That makes 1 absence for each of my classes, which isn’t too bad. Had to do his laundry this morning (woke up at the ungodly hour of 5:30!), then woke him up just after 7 as the contractors came.

Francine had called me last night just as Nathan got home – it was stinking hot all day & he’d had a bad day (he thought he might have gotten a bit of heat stroke). So I went outside (of course Nathan was none too pleased about that) to talk to her to save on my cell minutes. She was furious with the contractors!! Wrote a fairly nasty complaint letter & texted Cindy as well. There were gaps between the window frame and the wall, caulking on the carpet …. Apparently Bob was none too pleased either; he’d said something about writing a letter….and Cindy is going to be here around 2 today so Francine can show her her windows.

Well, on my way to the laundry, I had a word with the “owner” (turns out he isn’t the owner) about the complaints. I did this for 2 reasons. Firstly, I felt he had a right to know. Secondly, by telling him about the complaints, I was hoping to guarantee they wouldn’t screw up MY windows. Anyway, Nathan had a quick shower & they came in….finished the windows not long after he left for work. And they did a spot on job!!! I felt bad for Jay (the “owner”) ‘cos it stressed him out. But like I told him, if anyone had a problem, they should have discussed it with him first, before writing a nasty letter. Hopefully, my part in this will be kept on the Q.T. as I don’t want trouble with Francine or any other neighbors.

Right now I’m washing/drying my sweaters & winter coats. Already did the towels. I was going to do my quilt & blanket, but it’s really hot outside and “Hot Body” just put his clothes in. I may do my stuff when he’s finished.

Actually, I probably could have made it to campus for my appointment with Dr. Shinberg at 12:45 and my Social Problems class….but wanted to get some of this laundry caught up (it was strewn all over my bedroom floor). Not much left of my clothes to wash….the other plastic laundry basket is full of Nathan’s old stuff, that he still has to go through.

That’s all the updates for now. I’m going to take out some newspapers and check on my coats & sweaters.

Leave a Reply

