Thoughts on a Personal Statement

Published September 23, 2013 by mamapossum1954

Poverty. Domestic Violence. Child Abuse. Social Inequality. Welfare. Most of these terms were merely words before I began college as a mature-age student. Up until I had my son in 1991 as an older mother of 38, I didn’t know what it was like to struggle from week to week. Not only financially, but also mentally and emotionally. The challenges of motherhood were compounded by my being a single parent…in a “foreign” country…with no family and few friends…and little knowledge of the various support systems available to “people like me.”

(Note: just jotting down thoughts in regards to my personal statement required for graduate school. Anyone reading this is welcome to offer their thoughts, opinions, criticisms, etc. This is only the beginning.)

Leave a Reply

